Does Bobtailing A Kimber Pro CDP II Depreciates The Value of The Gun?

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by omroi2001, Apr 9, 2012.

1. omroi2001

omroi2001 New Member

I just recieved my Kimber Pro CDP II back from Cummings Custom Refinishing (CCR). First of all they took longer than estimated. Sent it out to them somewhere in between Thanksgiving and Christmas. Some of the other forums give accounts on the long they had to wait to receive their firearms back but..........
    The work they do is really worth the wait. I was so please with the bobtail conversion and they refinishing.

Anyways, that being said I was just wondering, I'm kinda new to the whole firearm world, does a bobtail conversion adds value or depreciates the gun?

2. pagj17

pagj17 New Member

Both... It depends on who you sell it to

3. canebrake

canebrake New Member

Does putting a pro-street hood scoop on a 2006 Mustang add value or depreciate it? It's a wash.

Does putting a pro-street hood scoop on a Bloomington Gold Certified 1967 427/435 Corvette add value or depreciate it? DEVALUE - YES!

I think your Kimber would be more like the Mustang.

4. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

if you are happy with the conversion and feel okay about the money spent, yes it adds value to it for you. if you try to sell it, then it's up to the buyer as to whether it adds value. just don't be suprised if or when you sell it, that you can't recover the costs of the conversion. if you never plan on selling it, then it really doesn't matter.

5. Tackleberry1

Tackleberry1 New Member

I've had my Kimber Pro II for about 9 years now. It's a great shooter and a very nice CCW piece but I would not say that Kimbers are or will be in the realm of collectible firearms.

Please post pics of your bob tail. I think this conversion would help reduce "printing" and is a mod I would consider for mine.

Tack

6. kytowboater

kytowboater Active Member

What seems to be the average cost of the mod?