Do you consider cost per round?

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by BlueTurf, Mar 6, 2012.

1. BlueTurf

BlueTurf New Member

I have been reloading for about 30 years now. I load four handgun cartridges and four rifle cartridges. Over the years I have been able to develop some ammunition that works very well in my firearms. I have been able to save money also, but that is not my primary concern.

I share my reloading information with friends and many times we have been able to help each other in finding our pet loads. I know one guy who gets on my nerves sometimes because he always asks, "What is the cost per round"? He is a penny pincher extreme and is driven by "doing it cheaper". His quest to do it cheaper affects the way he loads ammunition. He uses the fastest-burning powder he can get away with so he can use less of it. He uses the cheapest bullets and other components he can find. He places a lot of emphasis on the "cost per round". I am not talking about someone who goes through a lot of ammunition. He doesn't shoot very often so I can't see how he can possibly be saving more than pennies every time he shoots.

What about the rest of you? Do you load your own ammo to save money or to develop ammo that will work great in your guns, or both? Do you place much emphasis on "cost per round"?

2. Trez

Trez Well-Known Member

Wow! I though my buddy was bad... :p He just shoots lead with reduced loads, and is always makin' fun of me cause I want to reproduce the military loads using jacketed bullets..

I guess I got into it to save money (..sort of) Mainly it was just so I can keep my old war horses fed... Making 7.7 Jap or .30 US is alot cheaper and easier than buying it... And now that heavy ball 7.62x54 is hard to get, Im gonna have to start working up a load for my Mosin PU "sniper"

3. Overkill0084

Overkill0084 Active Member

Both I guess.