Deer Rifle Help

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by northhike, Aug 31, 2009.

1. northhike

northhike New Member

Ok...I will try and ask this question with some details so I don't get too beat up by you seasoned gun hunters. :D

I am a veteran hunter (20+ years), but new to gun hunting. Been bowhunting most of my life so if you need help with that I am your guy. :D

Anyway, I am looking for a deer rifle for hunting the edge of fields and woods of northern Minnesota. Most of the shots will be under 100 yards and I do not plan on hunting elk, bear, elephant, Bigfoot, etc......just deer. ;)

I read through some past posts and see that the 30-06, .308, 7MM, .270 and .243 were some good deer calibers. However.....I do enjoy my shoulder where it is now and would like to minimize recoil and not overgun myself.

I already have an idea of the maker of guns I like (Remmington and Marlin) and the action (bolt) so I got that covered. Its really down to caliber and since I have really never shot a deer rifle (other than shotgun) I have no idea what to expect, but would like a good starting point.

Recommendations on caliber? I know I have to test shoot a few, but would like some thoughts.

2. skullcrusher

skullcrusher New Member

I'd go with .270 and above and buy a recoil pad if you are worried about kick. The kick is not that bad in newer makes in most of the calibers you mentioned. I'm not sure what you consider heavy recoil, tho. It's one of those things that are relative to the shooter.

3. dukech1

dukech1 New Member

I shoot .270, .243, 30-30, 30-06, 45/70, and .44mag.
    I like all of the above. How big are your deer? Texas Hillcountry deer are smallish so .243 is great at the range you indicated, I like 100gr boattails. If you have big deer, .270 may be better. It's all really a matter of personal preference. You will get many answers and opinions here as all have personal favorites. Let us know what you wind up with and good luck!

4. northhike