Decisions

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by gshunsbergerjr, Sep 15, 2011.

1. gshunsbergerjr

gshunsbergerjr New Member

I am kind of new with firearms. I am looking at getting some sort of rifle so I can go hunting with. I live in Florida so range isn't an issue. I plan to use my fiance's brothers 30-30 this year. I have been looking at Mosin Nagants, AK-47, AR-15, Savage(such as the 110 or similar) and varieties of rifles. I have also looked into building my own from parts(AK-47, AR-15 and Savages). What would be the best way to get into it? Which would be friendlier on the pocket book?
    Thank you!

2. Garadex

Garadex New Member

All I can say is that the Cheapest (Price wise) would be the Mosin Nagant, and depending on what Caliber you get the 110 in it could end up costing the most to shoot. They are all very good deciscions no matter which one you get. Also please post in the introductions section if you get the chance.

3. gshunsbergerjr

What model of Mosin would be best? I was thinking of .30-06 or 7mm or something along those lines for the 110.

4. therewolf

therewolf New Member

At some point, you're going to have to do some of your own research, but

with the Mosins, they're Russian 5 shot bolt-action. Their ballistics,

with 150 grain FMJs, are approximate to the 30.06. Their two most

popular models are the 91-30, and the M44. The 91-30(@90$) is full-length,

and more accurate, the M44(@160$), is shorter, more of a carbine.

Cheapest ammo you can find out there, too.(440 round "spam cans" @85$)

Mosin-Nagants are the very least expensive way to go.

AK47s, in the 500$ range, are not that accurate, or hunter-friendly, with intermediate

7.62 X 39 ammo. (which is also inexpensive)

AR15s are more accurate, cost a lot more,

but are chambered generally with 5.56 (magnum .22) ammo, which may be

small, depending on what you're hunting. Any semi-auto in

Florida has to have a 5-round limit, in one way or another.