Deciding To Get My CCW

Discussion in 'Semi-Auto Handguns' started by XsV, Jan 6, 2013.

1. XsV

XsV New Member

So now comes the decision of what to haul around. I have a G17 and a 92 but both of those might be a little heavy for everyday carry and I'm probably not gunna be able to hide the ole Ruger revolver. I thought I made up my mind and I was going to pick up an M&P (probably 9 or 40). But now I'm not sure. Any suggestions? I want above 380 caliber, I have big hands so nothing to small (a shield is too small), poly or metal, no glock, taurus, kahr, hi-point, or bersa.

Also, since I'm new to this whole CCW thing, are there any other tips or info I should know about? I'm going to get a holster from Armadillo Concealment because I'd rather not keep it in my pocket or something of that nature. But I would appreciate any and all advice or help. :D

2. Balota

Balota ... but I used to play keyboards.

For starters read the following thread:

http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/read-before-you-decide-carry-67036/

Concealed carry is a compromise between a gun big enough to be satisfying to shoot and a gun small enough to conceal. Pick a gun that you are comfortable shooting, willing to practice with regularly, and can shoot with a reasonable degree of accuracy. Then start looking for a suitable holster.

Finally, search around this forum (and others) because there's a LOT of discussion of CCW and related topics here. Don't believe everything you read, try it for yourself. What works for someone else doesn't necessarily work for you (no matter what that someone else posted! :D )

And welcome to the forum!

3. locutus

locutus Well-Known Member Supporter

Just get a shoulder holster and you can easily conceal a .44 Magnum under a sweatshirt.

A really nice ccw gun is the SIG P239.

4. SigArmored

SigArmored New Member

I second the p239 as long as money is not an issue.

5. Bear304inc

Bear304inc New Member