credit and distributors

Discussion in 'NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion' started by mattybock, May 16, 2012.

1. mattybock

mattybock New Member

I have two little questions about distributors.
    You see, I'm new to this, on my way to an FFL, and my business plan is to sell firearms to customers on an as ordered basis from my home, taking a profit of $10 off of each gun sold.

My only competition is Wally world, so we'll see how tough that is.

I'm terrified of credit card, and equally afraid of debt. Do firearm distributors accept money orders for purchases?
    I know it sounds foolish, but I'd like to avoid credit cards and debit cards as much as possible.

Also, it seems many distributors will not deal with you unless you rent a space, have a store front and are in the yellow pages. I home business simply can't do that. :(

Can anyone recommend a distributor, or a list of them, that is okay with the little man?

Thank you.

2. wjnfirearms

wjnfirearms New Member

As to price, what you mark up is up to you. As credit cards, they're a necessary evil. I use Square right now as there is no monthly service fee. I quote a cash price and tell the client that if he/she wants to use plastic, there will be a service fee for credit. Many small guys do this. Nobody has complained. I'm looking into Intuit's new service which is exactly like Square, smartphone based, as they have no issue with firearm businesses while technically Square does. You will lose clients not accepting plastic.

As to distributors, I was in the same boat. I found several that offer cash sales through check fax or ach debiting and deal with the small guys. They are;
    Zanders
    Williams Shooting Supply
    MGE Wholesale
    Lipseys
    Shirk Supply
    Grice Wholesale
    Southern Ohio Gun
    RSR Group
    Davidsons