Craigs list

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by Flat Tire, Jan 8, 2013.

1. Flat Tire

Flat Tire New Member

So I am new to this Craigslist and I listed some auto parts for sale and I have been getting the craziest emails from people that don't make any sense, or emails that are blank. Is this common from this site ?

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

yes its common.

its also common that muggers rapists and serial killers use tht site to lure people to bad ends...

my recomendation is dont do it. here in se wisconsin your more likely to be robbed doing a face to face craigs list sale than completing the transaction safely. here recently there was an incident where the seller arranged the meet right in front of the racine county sherriff office and jail complex. he was robbed then shot and left on the sidewalk.

3. BeyondTheBox

BeyondTheBox New Member

I use it to sell pretty much everything other than guns and never had any bad luck, but read some horror stories like most. I use it quite often and is actually one of the main reasons I started carrying.

To answer your question, no, I've never gotten blank emails. I have gotten plenty from scammers.

I have a couple simple rules I follow and post them at the end of each listing. Cash only & face2face only transactions. Only meet in high traffic areas & times. I get a price established before I exchange any phone numbers also.

4. TankTop

TankTop Well-Known Member Supporter

I just sold a car on Craigslist, yea, 90% replies were scams. The scammers who wanted to send money orders or PayPal I had them call me wife to setup the transaction, of course her phone number was the local FBI field office, they didn't bother to call me back?

5. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

I have had good results with craigs list. Yes, I have got some nutty replies. People that want a zillion pictures of the item. I don't reply to those email messages. You can tell when someone is serious and ready to buy.

6. Axxe55