Converting my Mossberg 500

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by Rick1967, Mar 25, 2011.

1. Rick1967

Rick1967 Well-Known Member

I have a Mossberg 500 that was seriously rusted. But it was only on the outside of the barrel. It was mounted on a wall for about 5 years with an evaporative cooler blowing on it. I bought it really cheap. I am going to convert it to a pistol grip and cut down the barrel. Right now the thing is just shy of 50" long. I have already cleaned up the rust with an SOS pad. I purchased the grip and forearm this afternoon. I hope to put it together tonight. I will post some pics later. I am going to cut the barrel down to 18 1/2 inches.

I am still trying to decide how I want to refinish the barrel. I was thinking of using one of those cold blueing kits. Anybody here use one with good results?

2. skullcrusher

skullcrusher New Member

I have no experience with the do it yourself blueing, but this thread demands pics. Just sayin...:D

3. doctherock

doctherock New Member

How bout powder coat or duracoat.

4. doctherock

doctherock New Member

I just put this stock on my 500. If you leave the 6 position stock off you can use it as a pistol grip. Paid $69 for it at Cabelas in Idaho.

Attached Files:

5. bigtiller

bigtiller New Member

I used the cold blueing on a .410 barrel as a high school shop project. It covered everything okay but I remember it not being very durable. But that was a long time ago so maybe todays stuff is a little tuffer.

6. Rick1967

So far, so good.

Before and after. Not perfect. But definately good for home defense. Now for a finish.

Attached Files:

7. Rick1967

The barrel actually ended up being 19 inches. I wanted to give myself a 1/2" to play with, in case I goofed it up. But it turned out pretty good. I think I can live with it.

8. skullcrusher

skullcrusher New Member

If you are talking about barrel length, then you gave yourself a full 1".

Thanks for the pics and keep 'em coming. :D

*Edit*