Concealed carry rigs and my concerns at work

Discussion in 'Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection' started by genesaika, Sep 9, 2013.

1. genesaika

genesaika New Member

OK so I mentioned carrying at work in a thread today and got more help then I expected, so I figured why not make a thread on the subject. So here I am!

First off my gun, or future gun as it is. I will be getting a Beretta px4 full size. I did a lot of research and didn't find many real problems with it and I handled it in a store recently and loved how it felt and the weight. Unfortunately I haven't shot one, only because I just found a place that claims to rent then last week, haven't called to confirm for monetary reasons. I'm pretty set on it though. I decided on a full size because the compacts felt awkward, tiny, and just wrong in my hands. This could be because I'm fairly new to handguns, but that's how I felt and I don't buy something unless I'm comfortable with it.

I'm a heavy equipment mechanic which involves getting into the dirt, sand, grease, and often tight or awkward positions (upside down was mentioned). I have my concerns about safety in these conditions while carrying and would like some opinions.

Right now I'm looking at a blackhawk serpa cqc holster with the shoulder rig for it, maybe even a magazine and flashlight on the weak hand side. I figure the hard holster will help with accidental discharges and damage, plus the lock seems accessible and strong. The shoulder rig attaches to the belt for added security in those odd positions and it should keep things fairly close to me for getting in and out of those spots. I would wear 5.11 tactical carry shirts because they are well made and allow easy access to a shoulder holster, also they don't stain from grease!