Compressed Loads

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by mrb1982, Dec 9, 2011.

1. mrb1982

mrb1982 New Member

I am new to reloading, and I am going to be loading some 7mm Rem Mag for a Sendero with 26" barrel. I have a buddy who has a lot of reloading experience that is going to be helping me. I am going to shoot 168gr Berger VLD hunting bullets. I had Berger send me their reloading data for all the different powders and stuff. They give min and max's, and also a fill ratio. For instance, the max load on H1000, which I am very interested in using, is a 100.1% fill ratio. Is that a compressed load? Seating depth will probably play a role in that too I'm sure. Is anything over 100% a compressed load? Any explanation to clarify this for me would be helpful. Thanks. Also, any input you have on compressed loads would be appreciated. My buddy isn't necessarily a fan of them, but I am curious if anybody else has any thought on them. Thanks for the input.

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

Depends on their definition of 100%. I take it to mean right to the case mouth.

Compressed loads burn more evenly than looser loadings as the powder in loads with lots of empty space have more surface area to ignite so burn rates can vary.

In extreme cases it can cause detonation which is very much no bueno.

Using a long drop tube to fill the case helps pack the powder better. Using fire formed cases to your rifle chamber also helps. Full length resizing returns the case to its factory dimensions. Once fired cases that were fired in your gun then neck sized only have much greater case volume.

Using a wood dowl to gently pack the case halfway way without crushing then adding the rest of the charge can help in extreme cases.

Another good tool is one of those small personal vibratory "massagers" women like to have in the purse at times. Put a finger over the case mouth and vibrate the case gently can pack the powder.

Just some ideas

3. mrb1982

mrb1982 New Member