Compact 1911 45 search

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by phideaux, Nov 26, 2013.

1. phideaux

phideaux Active Member Supporter

I am in luv with my new SA 1911RO

I thought about CCW it, but nah, Im gonna baby it, custom made case for it, shootit often and pamper it. Im thinking this thing is gonna be making babies, afterall it is a stud.

Which leaves me with thinking a 1911 platform for CCW.

After MANY hours online, I have narrowed it down to these two.
    Both are about the same cost. The Sig has match barrel,match sear/trigger,the Colt does not.Both weigh about the same, 25 ounces.Sig has night sights.

yeah,yeah, I cant buy both.;):)

so help me decide, with your experience, and vast knowledge. :cool:

http://www.coltsmfg.com/Catalog/ColtPistols/ColtDefender™Series.aspx

http://www.sigsauer.com/CatalogProductDetails/1911-ultra-two-tone.aspx

Thanks

Jim

2. duddie10

duddie10 New Member

Id have to say sig. Ive been saving for the scorpion 1911 for a few months now. Having shot it, every thing feels just right.

3. JW357

JW357 New Member

Geeze that's a tough one. Both are excellent companies with stellar reputations.

I can't find it on their website - does Colt offer a lifetime warranty?

4. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

I wish I could help you. It would be interesting to shoot them side by side.

5. phideaux

6. getem2011

getem2011 New Member

Look at Dan Wesson's ECO. I just got mine and it has been a joy to shoot. Out of the two choices you have provided I would go with the Sig. I say this because the one sig 1911 I had had no issues. I have no experience with Colts.

7. JW357

JW357 New Member

8. duddie10

duddie10 New Member

9. JW357

JW357 New Member

Thanks. I was on a phone earlier so finding that stuff is not always easy.

It appears Sig has almost an identical warranty to Colt.

I'm not liking this whole lifetime warranty for the first purchaser nonsense.