Colt Python .357

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by Tackleberry1, Mar 20, 2010.

1. Tackleberry1

Tackleberry1 New Member

Need some advice from you revolver guru's. I'm looking to expand my handgun collection and yesterday I came accross a blued colt python .375 w/6" barrel. The gun looks to have the original colt wood stocks, and finish is 90%.
    The SN has no Letter in front of the number and is in the 64000 range. My dealer tells me he took it in on trade from a kid who inherited it and swapped it for a auto...
    Dealer also told me that being "pre letter" and in the 64000 range make it a mid to late 1960's production run. "I love tight old guns with a little wear".
    No box or paperwork and the dealer is asking $695.00. The price seems fair to me but I'm new to revolvers and just don't know if I'm looking at a great deal, a fair deal, or what?:confused:

Any advice on the value of this purchase would be appreciated...

2. NGIB

NGIB New Member

They are probably the prettiest revolvers ever built. My Dad had 2 of them and I used to just admire them. Two things of note - Pythons are kind of "delicate" and finding a smith to work on them is difficult. I suspect most Pythons sit in display cases versus being shot for these reasons. Yeah, I'd probably grab it for that price...

3. canebrake

canebrake New Member

Bad choice! Would you buy the puppy and send it to me? I'm the only one that knows how to fix it.

On a serious note, you could, depending on the condition, flip this for $1,000 +.

I have been searching for a Python to complete my 'bucket list' and it sounds like you may have a real find.

Canebrake says, "Buy it!" You will be hard pressed to find a higher quality vintage .357 Mag than the storied Colt Python! If it turns out that you don't like it I will take it off your hands for your purchase price + shipping to me.

There's a deal you'd be hard to pass-up.

4. lonyaeger

lonyaeger New Member