Cleaning your .22 semi-auto rifle

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by lonyaeger, Dec 22, 2010.

1. lonyaeger

lonyaeger New Member

I just started shooting "friendly-competitive" at the gun club with my 10/22.

The experienced shooters do nothing more than run a boresnake through the barrel every 100-200 rounds or so.

The maker of my barrel says to use solvents only rarely when cleaning the bore and they recommend just a boresnake as well for the most part.

This goes against everything I've ever been told, and I've been shooting most of my life.

Also, on the semi-autos like my 10/22 and my Browning take-down, if you were to use a brush and cleaning rod, you would have to go at it from the muzzle end, which doesn't seem right to me.

How do y'all do it?

2. Steve65

Steve65 New Member

No way to do a semi-auto but from the muzzle end -- same on a lever gun. I put a large patch in the chamber to try to catch the gunk, but what else is there to do?

3. 7point62

7point62 Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

The tolerances have always been pretty tight on the 10/22. If yours is a newer model they may be even tighter. I generally exceed manufacturer's recommendations because I believe those recs are tailored for inexperienced gun owners.

Can you get a flex poly-coated steel cleaning cable to run from the chamber out the muzzle end? I don't know if you can do that on a 10/22 without removing the bolt.

4. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

I can't get a rod and patch down the bore of my 10/22. So FWIW, I wet a boresnake with solvent and run it through the barrel a number of times. I use a Q-tip with solvent to clean the throat and inside the receiver.

5. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

I had a hole drilled in the back of the receiver so I could use a rod the correct way.

However, with .22lr, you are shooting lead bullets ( for the most part ) and not copper, copper clad, brass or something like that.