Cleaning Ruger Stainless .44 Mag

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by allruger, Aug 11, 2009.

1. allruger

allruger New Member

I'm new at this so here goes...I own a Ruger Super RedHawk Alaskan in a Stainless .44 Mag. Does anyone know how to clean off the powder burns on the end of the chamber and at the start of the barrell?? I've tried Hoppes #9 and a couple of other cleaning solvents. The stains are still there. Thanks

2. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

A "Lead Free Cloth". Yellow treated cloth sold at most gun shops. Will wipe off the powder residue from the cylinder face. DO NOT use it one a blued or nickled gun. It WILL remove the finish. They can be cut into squares to remove leading from the barrel.

3. Mark F

Mark F New Member Supporter

FLITZ Metal Polish will remove that nasty GSR stains instantly. Flitz is ALL I use on the exterior of my stainless steel guns.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 12, 2009
  4. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Ya, Flitz is good too.

5. allruger

allruger New Member

Thanks. My wife had some Amway Metal Cleaner that I tried last night. The stains came right off. A lot cheaper that Flitz.

6. allruger

allruger New Member

Thanks, I tried some Amway Metal Cleaner last nite and the stains came right off. No work involved. It's a lot cheaper that Flitz. Ever tried it??

7. Mark F

There is nothing more beautiful than a clean stainless wheelgun!

8. allruger

allruger New Member

Amway LOC Metal Cleaner. 8.8 oz for $4.50. Huge savings over Flitz and apparently works just as good. Thought you might want to know. Thanks

9. RL357Mag

RL357Mag New Member