Cleaning a revolver's barrel

Discussion in 'Revolver Handguns' started by ransom63, Mar 31, 2011.

1. ransom63

ransom63 New Member

I've owned a couple revolvers for a little while now & have never been satisfied with the cleaning job on my barrels, not being able to work straight from the breech end. Just how can a get a bore brush through without going from the end of the barrel? This sounds amateurish, but I could use some answers here!

2. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

I'm interested to see the answers here, too.

I am new to guns and own a revolver. I have been cleaning it from the muzzle end with a bore brush then cleaning patches. I am sure to push the brush all the way through then back. But I am very nervous about ruining the rifling in the barrel of my gun.

3. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

A bronze or brass brush will not hurt your barrel. Avoid stainless steel brushes and you'll be fine. There really aren't any alternative ways to clean from the breech end that I'm aware of other than a bore snake.

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

its time consuming but i just send the rod down sans brush screw the brush on and pull. repeat as needed. but i only got one revolver i shoot very infrequently

5. winds-of-change

Does a bore snake clean it good enough? I thought I needed a brush, too. As I said, I don't want to ruin the rifling but as you've said, I shouldn't ruin it with a brass brush, which is what I have. Because my gun knowledge is so limited, I'm always afraid I'm going to make a mistake with handling my gun. I want it to last my lifetime........and my children's lifetime.......and I have a wonderful granddaughter, too. :D

6. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

Take a close look at a bore snake. There is a brush imbedded.

7. winds-of-change

Ah, thank you. I didn't know that. I think I'm doing okay cleaning my gun but I may look into a bore snake. Are they reusable? Do you need to clean them?

8. danf_fl