Clay semi

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by kiabe1, May 23, 2014.

1. kiabe1

kiabe1 New Member

Whats a good semi auto clay gun. My budget is slightly limited so whatever you suggest i will probably be looking for used. Thx for the replies

2. SRK97

SRK97 Well-Known Member Supporter

Remington 1100

3. Virginian

Virginian Active Member

I'll second the 1100. There are a lot of good used ones available as well. I have been using them for 51 years, and I will not own an unreliable firearm. The biggest enemy of any semi auto is the nut on the back of the stock.

4. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

Benelli makes the most popular clay semi autos. If you are on a budget I would look at a Mossberg 930 with a 28" barrel...30" barrel if you can find one.

5. Virginian

Virginian Active Member

Benelli makes popular semi autos, but I sure haven't seen many on the clays ranges. Berettas yes. Gas guns dominate on the range. But for anyone on a budget of any kind you can't beat a used 1100 unless your tastes run to Berettas.

6. bobski

bobski Well-Known Member Sponsor

what clay game?
    skeet
    trap
    sporting
    or back yard?

7. kiabe1

kiabe1 New Member

It might be all 3 i've never tried any before and just found out theres a club nearby that does all three

8. indy36

indy36 New Member

Remington 1100 is a classic.

Beretta A400 is popular.

Benelli Super Sport.

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk

9. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

What you might find that will be in your budget in a old stevens double barrel choked in skeet1 and skeet2 or improved cylinder and improved modified. If you find one it can be had for $350 or so.

No, you will not get a stevens fox for $350. The stevens fox is a collectors item. they were only made for a few years.

10. Virginian

Virginian Active Member