citadel 45

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by 1911newbee, Aug 17, 2011.

1. 1911newbee

1911newbee New Member

Hey guys,i am thinking about picking up the citadel 1911/45 cal compact.It feels good in my hand and would be easier to conceal,as i am very thin.Problem is i would probably have to trade my s.a.mil spec in to get it.Any thoughts or input on citadel would be helpful.thanks steven

2. canebrake

canebrake New Member

First I would never sell a Springer to buy a Philippines built replacement.

For one, the Armsco Citadel will not hold its value like the SA you already own.

Word has it that the mags that come with the Citadels are trash. FTF issues.

Keep the Mil Spec, its a better 1911.

3. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

I'm no expert, but
    O when Cane, JonM, or Wambli speak I listen. I can't speak on the gun you wanna buy, but SA has a good reputation. in my opinion, SA is second only to Colt.

4. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

Keep what you have.
    Cane is correct.
    If you want another, save a little each payday and buy a second.

One can never have enough firearms.

5. Rick1967

Rick1967 Well-Known Member

I don't think I would sell a Springfield to buy a Citidel. However, I own the full sized Citadel. Mine has been very reliable. It is ultra acurate too. For the money, I think it is a great gun. I easliy have a couple thousand rounds through mine. And I can hold my own with it in competition.

6. JonM

JonM Moderator

if you want a smaller gun look at the colt defender/new agent or the springer versions of same.

i agree with cane your not getting a good deal there

save a few sheckles if your coming up short for a better quality ccw friendly 1911

7. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

I like your thinking Dan, I wish my daughters mother saw it the same way. My mom agrees, she says go buy guns and teach her granddaughter how to shoot. So I bought her a sig 229, she's only 6 months.

8. Firearms4ever

Firearms4ever New Member