choosing a lever action .22lr rifle

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by crustydownunder, May 3, 2011.

1. crustydownunder

crustydownunder New Member

Hi guys I am starting to look for a .22lr rifle as you may or may not know Im new to shooting went to the gun shop to look into a 22LR(for hunting rabbits mostly) sort of had my heart set on a lever action but the guy at the gun shop looked puzzled and asked me why:confused: when i could go for a cz brno, But their a bolt action i told him and he went on to tell me how great the rifle is and how i could hand it down to my kid and im sure they are a good rifle.Feeling we were drifting away from what i came in there for i asked about the lever action rifles he looked at me in disbelief and went on to talk about how the action doesn't matter:( and that i cant go wrong with the brno.when he did talk about the lever action rifles it was like they were second class rifles.
    I told him i would think about it.
    Am i being stupid? :eek:
    Can anyone recommend a lever action of good quality
    Does the action make a difference?
    thanks guys for any input
    Crusty

2. marlin-owner

marlin-owner New Member

that is very unacceptable! i would not go back there to buy anything because people like that are only out for there own good... anyways. the action does matter. its comfort. you might be comfortable with a lever and not with a bolt action. if your into levers then your best bet would be a henry .22. they have lots of different styles of lever actions available. go to henryrepeatingarms.com and check out there selection of lever actions or what ever suits you.

3. Txhillbilly

Txhillbilly Active Member

The best lever action rimfire made is the Marlin 39,hands down!

Winchester made a great one,Browning/Henry's are pretty good also,but if you want the best,buy a Marlin 39.

4. lonyaeger

lonyaeger New Member