Chokes effect recoil???

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by gunkid9mm, Dec 5, 2011.

1. gunkid9mm

gunkid9mm New Member

I was shooting my mossberg500 at the range about a mounth ago and noticed that when i put a full choke on my 28" barrel, i felt i bit more recoil from shooting the same ammo. This dosnt really make much sense to me.

Am I crazy or do chokes actualy effect the amount of felt recoil, thought id ask you guys who have been shooting for a while. Im new to shotguns in general.

2. trip286

trip286 New Member

I've heard that they do, but I've never really noticed it myself.

3. JTJ

JTJ Well-Known Member Supporter

You are restricting the barrel at the muzzle so you are going to get a pressure increase which means a recoil increase. You can really feel it with a slug going through a choke over a cylinder bore.

4. Virginian

Virginian Active Member

I assume you gentlemen are not from the school of thought that any barrel length past 18" is wasted because the maximum velocity has already been reached. Which of course means that the pressure has dropped to nothing. The maximum pressure for all loads is the same within 2-3/4" and 3" chambers, and the 3-1/2" is higher.
    While velocity will continue to increase with most powders I am aware of out to at least 30" in a 12 gauge, the pressure does rapidly decrease down the length of the barrel. If you can detect a difference I would be surprised. You may feel more recoil with a slug because because of the higher velocity with the lighter projectile.

5. gunkid9mm

gunkid9mm New Member