carrying while driving

Discussion in 'Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection' started by Krisms, Dec 6, 2012.

1. Krisms

Krisms New Member

i'm pretty new to cc and i have never been pulled over by an officer while carrying. i just want to get your opinions if it's okay to have your ccw on your person when the officer walks up to your car with my hands resting on the steering wheel of course and a show of courtesy by letting the officer i am carrying a legal firearm. any input if this is ok?

2. magnumman

magnumman New Member

I hand my lcf to the cop with my drivers license. Here in pa we do not have to inform the officer but I do out of respect.

3. 25-5

25-5 New Member

Get yourself the "Traveler's Guide to the Firarm Laws of the Fifty States" from the NRA store. It's very informative. Read the How too, first.
    Many states do not require you to inform the LEO, but some do by law. I do not give any information to a LEO that is not required. I have considerable respect for them, but, in the end they are the friend of a prosecutor, not yours.
    Whatever you are asked, tell the truth and follow Leo's instructions, and be courteous.

4. brandinm380

brandinm380 New Member

I live in Georgia and here we don't have to to inform the officer of anything. But my theory is i would rather be upfront about it than to surprise the officer. Always say you have a permit first, don't just blurt out " i have a gun". I always say "sir i would just like to let you that i do have a valid weapons carry permit and there is a firearm on my person."

5. Krisms

Krisms New Member

thanks for the input. that helps me a lot in my decision of whether i would keep it secured on me or encased in my vehicle's compartment. my preference is really to have my ccw on me.

6. canebrake

canebrake New Member

[​IMG]

7. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member