Carry Loaded?

Discussion in 'Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection' started by Staidan, May 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Staidan

Staidan New Member

Just curious... Do you carry loaded with round in chamber? Or loaded without clambering? Or mag in side pocket?

Sent from my ridiculously over-priced iPhone using Firearms Talk

2. 25-5

25-5 New Member

Condition one.
    But I don't suggest it in your case.

3. rifleman1

rifleman1 New Member

always loaded with one in the chamber.

4. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

If you are asking these questions I would strongly suggest taking a NRA basic pistol course. You also need a safety course to get a concealed carry permit. Most NRA sponsored ranges require basic pistol unless you have qualified with a pistol in the military or are LEO.

5. Rick1967

Rick1967 Well-Known Member

I agree with everyone else. You should get some good training. I am an IDPA safety officer and competitive shooter. IDPA is supposed to help prepare for a real life self defense scenario. Normal stages start with the gun in the holster loaded with a round in the chamber. That is the safest way. However, you must fully understand safe gun handling before attempting to carry a gun.

The four rules of gun safety are

Treat every gun as if it were loaded.

Finger off the trigger until your sights are on the target.

Know you target and what is behind it.

Never point a gun at anything you are not willing to destroy.

If these rules are new to you...you are not ready to carry.

6. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member

It's SO easy to obtain a CCL :eek:

7. 25-5

25-5 New Member

I was in my FL LGS and an older fella with CC was complaining that his double stack mag wasn't working properly.
    He had put the cartridges in backwards!
    Be careful out there!

8. Gh0zt36

Gh0zt36 Active Member

9. Dearhunter

Dearhunter Supporting Member Supporter