Carry at work

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by sidawony, Oct 9, 2012.

1. sidawony

sidawony New Member

I am a REALTOR in South Florida with a full concelled weapons permit. As a realtor i am an independent contractor with the company. I was informed today that i cannot carry my weapon in any of their offices.

When i signed up, there was no mention of this and there was no waiver that i had to sign.

With all the "new" laws, are they allowed to do this?

Looking for answers,
    Sidawony
    Florida

2. vincent

vincent New Member

How exactly did the topic of guns at work come up? I've worked lots of places and it's never come up...

And yes, an employer can do that, same as a business posting a GFZ sign...

3. JTJ

JTJ Well-Known Member Supporter

It is their office but what do you tell a client that is carrying? Good way to lose clients. Find another broker to work for. If you have a contract, a policy change is grounds for breaking the contract.

4. sidawony

sidawony New Member

Understand, but i would never tell a client, "if you are carrying, i cannot service you"

5. sidawony

sidawony New Member

Was speaking to another agent who also has a concelled weapons permit and i guess another agent overheard us and said something to the broker

6. chloeshooter

chloeshooter Active Member

Yep it is their right to ban guns on premises. Minnesota (where I live) has a conceal and carry law, but almost every business here "bans gun on premises".

Some mentioned you should find another Realty company to work for/ contract with - would you really feel all that dang "naked" leaving it in the car when you go inside?

Sincerely,

Someone who totally respects your right to conceal and carry, but doesn't understand the need to 24/7

7. redscho

redscho New Member

Perhaps he/she cannot tell which minute out of the 24/7 it might be needed. it.:rolleyes:

8. jjfuller1

jjfuller1 New Member