Career choices?

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by ShagNasty1001, Jun 3, 2013.

1. ShagNasty1001

ShagNasty1001 New Member

What did you pick what you did and why? I'm stuck between majors at the moment but am really leaning towards meteorology over energy management

2. rurak

rurak New Member

I'm an electrician. You can never go wrong with a trade.

3. dragunovsks

dragunovsks New Member

I was a heavy equipment operator at a rock quarry, operated Euclid haul trucks, backhoes, forklifts, skidloaders, big wheel loaders etc. Last big loader I operated was a Komatsu WA-500. I kept getting laid off in the winter so I decided to get my CDL because there were boocoo ads for cdl drivers in the help wanted section in the local paper.

Been behind the wheel since 08, minus about a year and a half in the middle where I worked at another rock quarry operating more giant earth moving and rock processing equipment.

Recently had an opportunity to work for the Indiana dept of corrections at a medium security prison near me but I think Im gonna pass on that, cant take a $200 pay cut on every weeks check. My buddy works there and averages 500 a week, right now I average 700 a week driving, plus I take my rig home which saves me from driving 50 miles a day.

4. KJG67

KJG67 New Member

I've gone through three different careers post-college. One due to a shift and downsizing in the industry. One I made the choice to switch to make more money for the family. But enough about me :)

As for your decision:
    1) you need to have an interest in actually doing something possibly for the rest of your life, but at least think about doing it for the next 7-10 years. Do both stand out?
    2) which career is more likely to get you a job when you get out?
    2a) can you do internships in either to get experience and contacts for your resume, that will put you ahead in possibly getting a job at graduation?