Career Advice

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by JW357, Feb 17, 2014.

1. JW357

JW357 New Member

So, I've posted a couple different threads similar to this before. But not quite the same, so I'm not re-opening them.

I am currently due to get out of the Marine Corps in the beginning of 2017. I can put in a request to get out up to a year early, which would make my EAS (End of Active Service) in early 2016.

I do plan on getting out. Few things you can say will persuade me to stay in. I've considered all the reasons for staying in already. I've also considered going into a different branch.

The military isn't what this post is about. It is about finding a job as a civilian. Not just finding a job, but having a job when I EAS.

My background is in Logistics. My current MOS is in a different field, and if at all possible I will be trying to get a job in my current field.

However, I am still working on my Bachelor's degree, and may or may not have it when I EAS in approximately two years. In my current field, it is very difficult to find a job without a Bachelor's degree.

So, I am considering working in the Logistics field when I EAS until I can finish my degree and work in my current field.

Can any of you give advice in this regard? What jobs pay better, what certs should I look into getting, etc etc etc. For what its worth, I will be living in NC near a large sea-port.

Last edited: Feb 17, 2014
  2. G30USMC

G30USMC Well-Known Member Supporter

Ever consider a career on LE?

3. JW357

JW357 New Member

I accidentally sent the post too early. I edited it later.