Can this happen

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by Trimap123, Feb 16, 2012.

1. Trimap123

Trimap123 New Member

I am new to the laws on conceal weapons but is this for real I was told by a friend he was pulled over for running stop light he told police he had a gun on him and were it was on his person and showed lic and Id he said he was asked to exit car and he took gun he cuffed him and sat him down on curb when he was done checking him out he took gin and placed it in trunk of my friends car and told him that's were it stays can they do this what are my rights if I get pulled over

2. kenhesr

kenhesr New Member

ummm, where you at?????????

Every state is a little different.

3. Trimap123

Trimap123 New Member

Florida. Miami area

4. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

Sounds like someone was throwing their weight around.

And just a recommendation... punctuation makes it much easier to read posts.

5. kenhesr

kenhesr New Member

6. vincent

vincent New Member

7. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Most states have laws that specifically permit officers to disarm permit holders while they are being detained (even for traffic infractions). It is difficult to acertain exactly what the situation was as I was not there and your punctuaton (or lack thereof) made it difficult to comprehend.

8. Vikingdad

Vikingdad New Member

Lack of punctuation makes it very difficult to understand what you are saying.

Does your friend have a license to carry concealed in Florida?

9. Trimap123

Trimap123 New Member

10. Chainfire

Chainfire Well-Known Member Supporter

I live in Florida, at the other end of the state, and I have not heard of anyone being so mistreated up here.

It is not required in Florida to tell a cop you are carrying, unless he asks. If the cop thought he was "bragging" by telling him it may have set off the cop's alarm bells. If he don't ask, I don't tell.:)