Can I smooth my rifles action with sandpaper?

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by sharpshooter5647, Mar 22, 2012.

1. sharpshooter5647

sharpshooter5647 New Member

I have a USSG z98
    Brand new, the bolt slides a little rough, not bad, but not as smooth as I'd like
    So can I take the action and barell off and smooth it with sandpaper? 600-1000 grit?

2. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member

Yes you can but steel wool triple fine works alot better.

God didnt make all men equal colonel Sam Colt did

3. sharpshooter5647

Ok, thanks
    Now I'm a novice, is it easy?
    Do I need to be extra careful?

4. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member

Fairly easy and time consuming. Hardest part will be the inside of the reciever

5. sharpshooter5647

Now if it's just a little rough sliding the bolt, then can I just smooth the guide rails?

6. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member

Ya and the bolt faces the rails touch will probably need a LITTLE smoothing also.

7. sharpshooter5647

8. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member

Your welcome mon ami

9. sharpshooter5647

Do I need to be careful not to do it too much? Or just a quick once over the area should work?

10. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member

Yes you do but a real quick once over should work. Repeat until your satisfied

11. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

a method i have used is, very fine valve lapping compound, the type used for lapping valves and seats in a cylinder head. just put a very small amount in the reciever slots and work the bolt back and forth a few times, clean out with a good solvent and compressed air, put a light coat of oil and see if it doesn't make it much smoother. repeat as neccessary until it's working like you want.

12. GunDoc

GunDoc New Member