can I get some help?

Discussion in 'Competition Shooting' started by were153, Oct 30, 2011.

1. were153

were153 New Member

Hey, I'm 17 and from Illinois and I would love to get into action pistol. Does anyone have any advice on a Good place to start? I have access to a S&W M&P 40, Glock 17 and a kimber custom II .45 . Which one should I train with also? I'm no stranger to a firearm but I have no experience with this kind of shooting.

Last edited: Oct 30, 2011

2. trip286

trip286 New Member

What exactly do you want to do? I'd recommend IDPA myself, but first things first:

You have to have a gun. Not knowing where your from, you need to check the local laws. In my state the law allows all ages to transport or carry a firearm to a legitimate sporting event. So you'd be in the clear at 17.

You have to have a gun, that you can shoot. Take some classes and get some training. Be ready to invest some money into ammo.

Before you can have a gun, you need to find the one you want. Go to a range that rents handguns and try as many as you can. Look for comfort and pointability. If you have those 2, accuracy should fall right into place with practice, unless the gun's just total crap.

Really though, we need more info on what you want to do.

BTW, welcome to FTF! Hope you enjoy your stay, and stop by the Intro section so we can give you a proper welcome.

3. glock22scout

glock22scout New Member

G17 is a perfect pistol to start with in the production class. I started with one and now use a G34 still in production class. What I would suggest is find a local club go watch a match talk to some shooters. Also look for a new shooter clinic. Great start point! Enjoy your sport

4. were153

were153 New Member

IDPA sounds great! That's what I'm looking for. As for a gun I'm extremely proficient with the three I listed above. I'm very comfortable with handling them. I feel like IDPA will help me in the future because I want to become a police officer.

5. danf_fl