Can ballistics tell you the make and model of the gun a bullet came from?

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by TheNYResistance, Mar 5, 2012.

1. TheNYResistance

TheNYResistance New Member

Can ballistics tell you the make and model of a gun?
    I was watching The Lincoln Lawyer and in it a person is shot with a 22 pistol, Matthew M. Says "good, so and so owned a 22" the cop says, "yeah, but it wasnt a woodsman, ballistics says it was a colt woodsman, an antique job."

They had no shell, just the bullet in the guy's head, even with the shell, it is a 22 LR with a dimpled primer, how can they tell? Thinking Hollywood Bs, but I'm no expert.

2. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

Yes, at least sometimes they can tell. Guns have many different kinds of rifling. Most often they can only tell the brand not the model.

3. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Well, you can tell Colt from S&W (right hand S&W, Left hand Colt) identify Glocks (polygonal rifling) Can recognize NEW Marlin (microgroove) and distinguish between 1903 Springfield and an 03A3 (different number of grooves) and MAYBE a Carcano (gain twist rifling). 12 lands and grooves on a .38 is an FIE Titan Tiger. But there ARE limits.

As far as a fired casing- the firing pin and extractor leave tool marks. You need a good microscope to see the variations that distinguish them, but it IS used in court- but not to say " This is from a 1937 Ferinshlurger .37 Magnamus" but to say "This cartridge was fired from this gun."

Please do not confuse TV with reality, that makes my head hurt. You rarely solve all the crimes in 24 minutes plus commercials, and rarely get detailed forensic information while you wait from your genius in the basement.

PS- .22 rimfire is a ***** to get ballistic info on. When it hits a bone, soft lead deforms really, I mean REALLY badly. Striations go bye-bye.

Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
  4. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter