C ar15 vertical grip

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by alexander_car15, Mar 15, 2011.

1. alexander_car15

alexander_car15 New Member

I'm a newbie on the ar15 , what parts do i have to buy to install a vertical grip into my CAR15?

i already have the picantinny rail and the foregrip. do i need other accessories? because it doesn't seem to fit :confused:

2. WoodysKJ

WoodysKJ New Member

Pics of your set-up and attempted set-up would be helpful.

3. rjgnwdc

rjgnwdc New Member Supporter

4. kenhesr

kenhesr New Member

Hummm, doesn't fit as in how? If you mean that the rail won't slide into the grip - Is this one of those that you have to pull the battery compartment out FIRST because the ridge on the top of it is what locks the grip to the rail????

Or do you mean the bolts that came with the picatinny rail need to be longer to go thru the heat shield on the forearm. ????? If its a problem with mounting the rail to the forearm, there is a lot of good info in the reviews of this product on amazon.

Sorry, ??????????, Ken

PS - Welcome to the forum, you are in Good Hands! :D

Last edited: Mar 16, 2011
  5. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

Out of spec rail and possibly the grip as well.

6. rjgnwdc

rjgnwdc New Member Supporter

Probably needs to change the forearm because the rails won't bolt up:confused:

7. alexander_car15

alexander_car15 New Member

the grip fit to the rail, but this two pieces together doesnt fit to the handguard; will I have to buy another handguard or the original its enough?

8. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

The add-on rail will bolt up to your handguard, correct?

Will the grip slide onto the add-on rail?

9. kenhesr

kenhesr New Member

OK, now I get it! Sounds like the easy way would be to buy a new handguard with the rail already on it.

Or you might have to modify the handguard you have now to use the rail you just bought.