Bushmaster Carbon 15 Inputs

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by 05RavenRider, Jan 17, 2012.

1. 05RavenRider

05RavenRider New Member

Just bought the gun over the weekend at a local gun show. Equipped a quad rail and front grip just after purchase. The gun came with a Bushnell red dot which will be changed eventually. It is my first AR and I'm really just looking for expert input from those who have used it and their experience. Any good upgrades would be cool, too.

Attached Files:

2. MichaelBarton

MichaelBarton New Member

well,, i recently bought one of these..... they are not the best quality. ive only put around 1000 rnds down range and the to rail is already loose. the lower isnt bad. i heard carbon upper jam alot. i changed the upper to a Stag arms upper. it cost around the same price as the whole carbon 15. remember, you get what you pay for.

oh and go introduce yourself!

3. 05RavenRider

05RavenRider New Member

My name is Kevin. I'm a Navy Submariner by trade but I'm currently working at Navy Recruiting Headquarters in Millington, TN.

4. Gloves

Gloves New Member

Welcome Raven Rider. I got a buddy who's a submariner.
    No experience with that brand.
    I say, shot the **** out of it and see what breaks. That's usually what I upgrade. =)

5. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

We've had two really recent cases (last week) on this site alone of poor quality w/ this rifle. There is a long trail of issues w/ the Carbon on top of these recent cases.

Another case where looking for advise before the purchase would have been best.

6. Quentin

Quentin New Member

My buddy has had a C15 quite a while, since 2008, and it's held up to light use. I don't trust it myself but his wife loves it because it's lightweight.

It seems recent models made in Ilion, NY are of lesser quality than older ones. I'd say treat it gently and certainly never mortar it to remove a stuck casing.

7. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member