Bullet Setback?

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by GlockRenegade, Jun 11, 2012.

1. GlockRenegade

GlockRenegade New Member

Ok so I have heard rumors that continually chambering a round can cause bullet setback. Meaning the bullet has moved in the casing and could case damage when fired. I was told just compare the round to others I have not chambered and make sure the bullet has not moved. Typically when I un-chamber a round I put it at the end of the mag. Thoughts?

2. ineverFTF

ineverFTF New Member

I am by no means an expert but if your shooting even half decent ammo that should not be a problem.

3. GlockRenegade

GlockRenegade New Member

Thx for reply. Generally these are Hornady crit def and Winchester supreme elite HPs. I like to keep one in the chamber but I also dry fire every day, even if its just 5-10 shots. So this means every day i would chamber the round.

4. ineverFTF

ineverFTF New Member

Ok the only thing i could see happening is shaving a little metal off the bullet every time you chamber it.

5. jeepejeep

jeepejeep New Member

I've heard of it happening but in almost 30 years of owning guns have not experienced it with factory or hand loads.

6. GlockRenegade

GlockRenegade New Member

Awesome, thanks for feedback

7. JonM

JonM Moderator

It does happen and it depends on how the gun design in question chambers a round. If it hits the top of the chamber hard it can loosen the crimp over time then the bullet can move forward into the lands by inertia. At that point it can create over pressure and kaboom.

Its not common but it can when a round is chambered over and over. This is often seen with prison guards, police, military, security etc as those individuals tend to chamber the same round day after day for years and never use the ammo.

I had it happen with some high end 380acp sd ammo. Bullet was very loose in the case from chambering repeatedly.

8. jeepejeep

jeepejeep New Member