Bullet scales?

Discussion in 'Company Review Forum' started by ICleanBrassWithJager, May 4, 2015.

1. ICleanBrassWithJager

ICleanBrassWithJager New Member

I'm looking for a decent scale for measuring bullets, and can't make up my mind as I have no experience in previously using these scales.
    Also, while perusing the internet for bullet scales, I was thinking I'd like a trigger pull gauge. Advice on either of these will be great, and I thank everyone for their time.

2. jigs-n-fixture

jigs-n-fixture Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

Reloading scales are used for weighing ammunition components. Be wary of inexpensive digital ones they are designed to weigh in grams. And convert to grains. So they are not truly precise enough for reloading. The precision is only about 0.2 grains.

3. ICleanBrassWithJager

ICleanBrassWithJager New Member

How many grains are in a gram?

4. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Well-Known Member Supporter

1 gram = 15.4323584 grains

1 pound = 7000 grains

5. JonM

JonM Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

if your serious about loading a rcbs chargemaster combines an automated powder measure and scale, or you can get just a scale. good electronic scales can be had from lyman or rcbs.

stay away from ced or frankford arsenal scales.

higly recommend electronic scales especially the chargemaster.

ive had my chargemaster about 5 years and its solid piece of gear

6. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Some of the earlier Frankford Arsenal scales left a lot to be desired. I have one of the newer ones and it seems to be good quality. Accuracy is good.

The Lyman digital trigger pull gauge works. I have had one for 15 years and have had zero issues with it

7. Txhillbilly

Txhillbilly Well-Known Member

I wouldn't waste any time or money buying the crap digital scales that all of the reloading supplier's sell. The resolution of most of them is really poor in most cases.