Budget Semi auto defense rifle

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by KHickam, May 29, 2014.

1. KHickam

KHickam Member

I am a Vet with a couple disabilities - and I am looking for recommendations on a Budget semi auto defense rifle - somewhere in the $500 range - I have a Mosin Nagant - but it is long and a bolt action - currently my home defense rifle is a 10/22 with a BX 25 magazine shooting CCI Stingers

Any thoughts on guns - I had thought a M1 Carbine would be nice but wow have they gone WAY up in price - :confused:

2. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

You can build an AR for close to that price. Have you looked around at some of the kits?

3. seancslaughter

seancslaughter New Member

4. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

Buy the set; auction the shotgun; and you'll probably come real close to $500.

5. Mercator

Mercator New Member

For self defense I'd go with a large pistol caliber. If you don't mind a 45 ACP, the Beretta Storm carbine is as good as they get. Reliable, easy to shoot accurately, and simple inside. It used to be $900, in this market $500. If I didn't have it already, I'd grab one today.

6. eatmydust

eatmydust New Member

I've seen S&W M&P 15 Sport (AR based 5.56x45) in my area for $569.00. They were being sold at the Great Eastern Outdoor Show in Harrisburg, PA, back in Feb. for $549.00.

I just checked www.atlantictactical.com and they have the Smith & Wesson M&P 15 Sport listed for $555.00

7. Shoobee

Shoobee New Member

I've seen the older Ruger Mini's go for under $500.

If that's all you can afford then go for one.

Very similar to the M-1 Carbine.

8. wknight40

wknight40 New Member

I'd say AR based with 5.56 capability also. Many options in the .223 and a few specialized ones for self defense. Low recoil and get a laser mounted and sighted in and you won't even have to aim. Just point and pull the trigger where the dot is.

9. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member