Firearms Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got a hold of this 16ga in rough shape. Trying to get info on the serial number I haven't had any luck but I'm not very experienced with tracing histories. Anybody out there that can ahead some light on it?
Wood Musical instrument Wind instrument Shotgun Everyday carry
Brown Wood Tool Material property Wood stain

·
Premium Member
2,224 Posts
Browning doesn't have good records going way back. I have an Auto5 that goes back to just after WW1 if not during it. Browning is clueless about the serial number, FWIW.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Browning doesn't have good records going way back. I have an Auto5 that goes back to just after WW1 if not during it. Browning is clueless about the serial number, FWIW.
Worse than that with newer ones, I have a Browning Citori Featherweight upland with 2.75" chambers. The serial number decoder on the Browning website says it's a Standard Field with 3" chambers! Apparently mine isn't the only one that got stamped like that either.
The only accurate DOM list I've found is the one the NRA site did, check it for your A5's number:

·
Premium Member
2,224 Posts
Worse than that with newer ones, I have a Browning Citori Featherweight upland with 2.75" chambers. The serial number decoder on the Browning website says it's a Standard Field with 3" chambers! Apparently mine isn't the only one that got stamped like that either.
The only accurate DOM list I've found is the one the NRA site did, check it for your A5's number:
Non-Belgium made Brownings are disappointing. Nuf said.

·
Registered
990 Posts
I am partial to the classics but the Japan made Brownings are very good as well. My shotgun (Belgium), its pretty old, seen a few miles, but still does the job:) The rifle is also made in Belgium;)
Musical instrument Wood Wind instrument Natural material Woodwind instrument
Air gun Trigger Wood Shotgun Gun accessory

·
Premium Member
Glock G42
5,109 Posts