Firearms Talk banner

brass shavings in chamber

4K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  Danoobie 
#1 ·
hello,
I'm pretty new to bolt action rifles.I bought a ruger hawkeye 3006 been reloading and shooting it for about a year.I've been noticing little brass shavings in the action up by the chamber? what could be causing this?
any help would be appreciated

Reactions: Dallas53
#2 ·
It could be several things.
1. A rough chamber - Look at your brass before you chamber it,and then look at it when you eject it. It is scratched up?
2. Could also be a head space issue. Only way to know that is to have it checked with a Go / No Go gauge.
3. Since you reload,What type of case sizing do you use - Full length or Neck sizing?
4. Do you know how much you are bumping the shoulder of the cases back when you resize them? If you set your dies up correctly,you should set the shoulder back .002"-003" when you size them.

#3 ·
no scratches on the brass. do not have a gauge. fisrt reload was full the rest[4] have been neck sized.I double check the bump back

#7 ·
couple of questions.

1) has it always done this, or just started?
2) how many round approximately in total have been fired through the rifle?
3) are you noticing any extra effort in taking the case from the chamber during extraction?

#10 ·
i just noticed it on the last 150 rounds
exactly 450 round
smooth extraction
no crimp
the brass was reloaded 5 times
o.a.l 3.325"
just looking at the picture you provided, it was hard to tel exactly, but are they just specks of brass or particles, than actual shavings?

if so, i would just do a thorough cleaning and lubing, and see if it continues to happen. i have noticed the same thing with some of my rifles when they were new, and it ended up going away. didn't matter whether it was factory ammo, or my handloads.

#12 ·