bow help

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by jjfuller1, Oct 31, 2011.

1. jjfuller1

jjfuller1 New Member

i understand this is a firearms forum but i thought there might be a good amount of bow knowledge as well. i have been using my uncles hand me down compound. its probly 10 years old or more. so i was thinking of getting myself a new bow in the future. i was curious of if there are better brands. or ok brands and what makes the differences. ive always shot fingers with every bow. longbow, recurve and compound. and i am probly going to try a release. any tips on those might be helpful as well.

2. readygirl

readygirl New Member

Im just getting into competition archery myself, so dont know much about squat, but i can tell you , my new PSE is smooth and consistant. I use a WINN FREE FLIGHT C-10 release, it fits on your hand like a glove, little pricey $75, but i like it better than the other ones i have tried. My best advice to you ,is go to a BASS PRO, CABELLAS, ETC, where they have someone trained to properly fit the bow to you, makes all the difference in the world.

3. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Really have no experience with any bow whose design is later than 1400 AD, but these folks do: 15 Best Compound Bows for 2011, Part 2

Looked up images of some of those bows. Good Grief! They would look right at home being caried by Mr. Spock on his home planet, or by an evil Jedi Knight!

4. yazul42

yazul42 Active Member Lifetime Supporter

I like longbows and recurves myself,, you seem familiar with them and it seems you want to go to a compound. Nothing wrong with a compound, I just think traditional equipment is more fun to use and alot less complicated.
    Go with what you know,, but also head down to an archery shop and get help. Most places are more than happy to give you any assistance they can.

Good shooting,
    Jeff

5. Yunus

Yunus New Member