Bought my first .22 today!

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by therhino, Dec 31, 2010.

1. therhino

therhino New Member

Well, after shopping around and doing a TON of research over the past month or so, I finally busted outmy wallet, and bought my first .22 rifle.
    Anyone who's read my intro post knows I'm a marine veteran who's never fired anything smaller than a 5.56mm round. Antitank rockets, .50 cal HMG, sure. No handguns, no plinkers, ever.
    I'd looked at a whole bunch of options, and today was comitted to bringing something home. I'd had my sights set on a used rifle, because of the cost. On the rack today were two Marlin 60s, two Remington 597s, and a Mossberg 702 Plinkster.

The Plinkester was nice, but I didn't like the plastic stock. Pass.
    One of the Marlins was near-new, and priced accordingly. One was listed at $135, but was stainless, had a Tasco scope, and no iron sights. Pass.
    The first 597 was in good shape, with a monster of a a scope, but no iron sights. The second was a train wreck. Whoever had owned it before had SPRAY PAINTED it. Not just the stock, but the whole rifle, barrel, trigger, scope, and all. They at least capped the scope lenses before spraying, but this thing was a wreck. Priced accordingly, and I thought about taking it to see if I could remove the paint, but remembered the stock underneath was resin, and would likely not stand up too well to a solvent bath.

In the end I went with...*drumroll*...a brand new Ruger 1022. Standard carbine with blued finish and birch stock. I like the heft of it. Not too heavy, and not too light. Simple iron sights, and already tapped and mounted for a scope, should I feel the need to become a squirrel sniper. Plus, if i ever decide to go hog-wild, I can swap stocks and make it look like I'm an armchair SpecOps operator, lol.