bodyguard 380 vs

Discussion in 'Semi-Auto Handguns' started by Crazvet, Dec 3, 2012.

1. Crazvet

Crazvet New Member

I'm new to ccw and picked up a used S&W Bodyguard 380, I like the feel(small yet fits my large hands well for a compact) but the trigger has a long unsmooth pull and I have a early model w the laser button problem. Any info on fixing these problems and general info on how it stacks up to other .380's would be much appreciated

2. magnumman

magnumman New Member

most da 380's have long pulls. the more you shoot it, the smoother the trigger should get. i have no experience with the laser issue so i dont think i can be much help there. did you buy used?

3. Crazvet

Crazvet New Member

Yes it was used, I've since called S&W their sending new buttons to me, as for the trigger I've been using a quarter resting one the slide while dry firing(the self resetting hammer is great:)

4. Gonzilla

Gonzilla New Member

Trigger pulls are usually or traditionally long because there are no safeties and since these CC weapons are often used under high stress situations, the CO does not want you to "Glock" yourself.

5. Crazvet

Crazvet New Member

That's the thing mine has a safety, I hope S&W or the aftermarket offers a trigger tune up kit, since the LAPD has made it their backup weapon(minus the laser and safety)

6. Gonzilla

Gonzilla New Member

Many people do not want a safety on a BUG - one less thing to go wrong.

If you research the threads, a guy had an issue w LCP trigger and had it sent out. Wonder how much they can do ?

Why w anyone disable a functional laser ? I had to pay extra for mine...CT laser helps overcome speed bump like sights in low light or any light ;).

Last edited: Dec 3, 2012
  7. Crazvet

Crazvet New Member

I'd be willing to bet the PD asked for no laser to save on cost. The buttons on the laser are a bad design, has soft buttons like a tv remote(not very durable for holstering and unholstering overtime)

8. Colby

Colby New Member