Body armor at the range

Discussion in 'Training & Safety' started by KJG67, Feb 3, 2013.

1. KJG67

KJG67 New Member

So this question has been burning in the back of my head lately, and now with the tragic news of Chris Kyle I have to ask. Absolutely nothing against brand new gun owners because we all can made mistakes, but I'm having a hard time going to the range on weekends now when there appears to be many brand new gun owners. I've only seen a few clowns that made me nervous where I've just sat back and watched to make sure they weren't being reckless, but I've seen plenty of people that while always pointing the barrel down-range, certainly appear a bit nervous. I'm by no means a seasoned expert, but know enough to help others out when I can or at least point them out the SO. And of course there's a thread here with some crazy and tragic range stories.

So the question is, how many of you wear body armor to the range? Am I just paranoid to consider it? If you do, what are wearing? Level II or IIIA?

2. ArrizX

ArrizX New Member

I have never even considered this. I guess I live in a small town, with few people at the range. Everyone where I live owns a gun or 3 anyways.

Ive always figured the gun range is the safest place to be.

3. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

Range safety violations should be reported to the staff.

On the vest issue, IMO one should train as realistic as possible.
    (And standing at a line, shooting paper, is not training. It is practice for shooting.)

4. sdiver35

sdiver35 New Member

We were muzzle flashed by some clown yesterday at the range. He was jawjacking with two friends and holding a revolver by the frame facing backwards and parallel to the firing line. We were on our way out and there wasn't anyone else in that bay, but that's how sh!t happens. Ignorant, careless people

5. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Long ago, in a galaxy far, far away......