Black Powder .32 H&R ammo

Discussion in 'Curio & Relic Discussion' started by JIMV, May 17, 2012.

1. JIMV

JIMV New Member

Does anyone know where one can buy a couple of boxes of .32 S&W ammo for a H&R .32 model 1895 top break??

2. donthav1

donthav1 Active Member

your best bet would be to reload your own, i don't think anyone commercially loads them in black powder now.

.32 S&W never was a very powerful round, even the modern ammo only runs about 700 fps & a little less than 100 lb ft. of energy at the muzzle, which can't be any higher than the black powder rounds were. if your firearm is in good condition, you MAY be able to safely fire the smokless stuff. of course i am not a balistics engineer or firearm designer so take my advice at face value

3. texaswoodworker

texaswoodworker New Member

32 H&R is a little more powerful than 32 S&W. I'd be extremely careful if you decide to use full powered modern ammo in it. You best bet would be reloading as previously stated. Plus, regular 32 H&R is expensive. It cost around $30 per 50 rd box around here, if you can even find it. I had to look 60 miles away to even find some, and even then the choices were extremely limited. Black powder loads would probably be extremely hard to find.

4. JIMV

JIMV New Member

I am sorry...I was in a hurry and not clear. The revolver is a H&R .32 top break manufactured in 1895 and chambered for .32 S&W shorts in black powder. The revolver is in excellent condition but I will not fire modern ammo through it and have no reloading skills, experience or gear.

What I would like to find is a source for a couple of boxes of .32S&W shorts loaded for black powder so as to let me at least shoot the thing a bit.

5. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

I can not find any. I would suggest if you have a local company that sells reloads(try at local gun shows and local gun shops) ask them to load some bp loads for you.

6. barneygoogle

barneygoogle New Member