best thing to use to clean handgun

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by Ownspitbull, Oct 13, 2011.

1. Ownspitbull

Ownspitbull New Member

Im a newbie and just got a Smith and Wesson .40 handgun. Whats the best things to use to clean it? In the stores like Wal-Mart I see Rem Oil alot but I would think that would be used just to oil and lubricate my pistol rather than clean it.

2. Firearms4ever

Firearms4ever New Member

I use Ballistol. Generally you cannot find it in local stores so you'll have to buy it from somewhere like Brownells or Ballistol's website. In my opinion it is the cream of the crop when it comes to cleaning and maintaining a firearm.

3. EagleSix

EagleSix New Member

Here is a link: http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f102/gun-cleaning-input-48564/

When I copied the link there were 707 opinions on how to clean guns.....enjoy....

4. RecklessRegard

RecklessRegard New Member

Hoppe's No.9 solvent is popular, does a decent job and is readily available pretty much everywhere. Also, I have used, and like for that fact, Gunzilla. I use it at work, and it does a great job.

5. sweeper22

sweeper22 New Member

I like RemOil as a general purpose cleaner/lubricator. It's my primary cleaning fluid when I return home from the range. But do use something a little more slippery on your rails.

I've got some stuff called "Slip 2000" that's outstanding for rails. Probably costs more than necessary, probably could easily be replaced by 90% cheaper motor oil...but what the heck, that little $12 bottle will last me a few years.

6. gollygee

gollygee New Member

I like Hoppes #9 also, for the bore & Sweet 7.2 is also good for bore cleaning. However, I wouldn't recommend them if your gun has a nickle finish. The amonia can attack the copper sub base under the nickle & cause it to flake off.