Best shotgun for beginner

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by newbee1950, Dec 5, 2010.

1. newbee1950

newbee1950 New Member

I am just starting my search for a shotgun. I want something that is easy to operate, clean, maintain and has the least amount of kick. It would be used for vermin--possibly an occasional coyote. I have very little gun experience. But now that I am way out in the country, I realize I should have something for protection.

2. jpattersonnh

jpattersonnh Active Member

I bought my middle son an H&R Topper deluxe in 20ga. He has used it for waterfowl, crows, skeet. One problem w/ a 20ga is all I can find local for shot is #5. I use #4 minimum in 12ga for coyotes. Good shotgun overall, great price.

3. dnthmn2004

dnthmn2004 New Member

I would go with a Remington 870 - in whatever configuration you choose. As long as you hold the butt in tight to your shoulder, the recoil is easily manageable with 2 3/4" loads. Plus there is a plethora of ammo choices in 12ga, including low recoil loads.

4. suprdave

suprdave New Member

Mossberg 500 in 20ga. A single shot, break-down H&R or NEF will also suit your needs. Have fun and let us know what you choose.

5. bgeddes

bgeddes New Member

I would argue against a single shot if you are concerned with recoil. The gun will weigh nearly nothing and more recoil will be delivered to the shooter.

A Mossberg 500 or Remington 870 pump would fit the bill. Both proven workhorses, with lots of aftermarket support. Either 12 or 20 gauge would work, but you lose a bit of ammo variety and availability with 20 ga.

Both guns are reasonably priced (less than $300), and can be found at any self-respecting gun shop.

After you buy either, find a couple local buddies, get a box of clays and a thrower, and a giant box of 9 shot ammo. You will not believe how much fun you can have with your new boomstick.