Firearms Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
I grew up in a hunting/shooting family, but I only recently got interested in shooting on my own. I have a BB/pellet gun, but I'm ready to buy a "real" gun. I have a friend and my family to get advice from, but this forum was suggested as a good place to learn by the people over at the preparedsociety.com forum so I thought I'd ask here, too.

Any suggestions? I'm thinking a .22, but as I said, I'm a newbie to this. I have to say, though, I'm hooked. Plinking is strangely relaxing and pretty addictive, too.

Thanks in advance!

emily

·
Supporting Member
11,986 Posts
emily,

I would suggest a Ruger 10-22 if you are looking for a good quality semi auto 22 cal rifle that has a reputation for being one of the best. They are not all that expensive either. And later if you ever want to add accessories onto it to make it look cooler there are a lot of accessories out there. I purchased three for my grandsons three years ago for Christmas. I think you would be very happy with one! I do not know where you live but you but most stores have them in stock.

·
Registered
878 Posts
Sniper03 said:
emily,

I would suggest a Ruger 10-22 if you are looking for a good quality semi auto 22 cal rifle that has a reputation for being one of the best. They are not all that expensive either. And later if you ever want to add accessories onto it to make it look cooler there are a lot of accessories out there. I purchased three for my grandsons three years ago for Christmas. I think you would be very happy with one! I do not know where you live but you but most stores have them in stock.

Agree 100%, the ruger 10/22 is the perfect starter rifle, i've been shooting for more than 20 years and i still enjoy mine.

·
Registered
4,738 Posts