Best gun for a newbie

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by Beezer, Oct 27, 2013.

1. Beezer

Beezer New Member

I'm fairly new to shooting. The one handgun I've shot was a baby Glock .45. I didn't really like it. I'd like to get something not quite a power that is fun to shoot. I'm not necessarily looking for a home defense weapon, just something to enjoy shooting at the range.

Any suggestions on guns I should test next time I am at the range?

2. hoovco

hoovco New Member

A pistol in .22. A box of 500 rds costs like 20 bucks.

3. therewolf

therewolf New Member

A Ruger MK III, or 22/45, with the 6.75" bull barrel.

The Nambu-style slide makes them a perfect

platform for a scope.

They shoot well, and have very little recoil.

Get a Stainless Steel model. You'll thank me

later.

4. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

This is the answer. Get yourself a Mark III and have a whole lot of fun. They are .22 caliber. They won't beat you up and you can shoot them all day long. The ammo is fairly inexpensive, too.

5. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

Everybody needs a 22. That's about the only rule we will all agree upon around here. And if you are looking for something just for fun, there is nothing better.

The Ruger Mk series
    Browning Buckmark
    Ruger SR22
    Smith & Wesson M&P 22

There are so many options.

6. winds-of-change

Here's my Ruger Mark II. A very accurate gun and a whole lotta fun to shoot. This picture is before I dressed it up.

[​IMG]

Here she is fully dressed.

[​IMG]

7. therewolf

therewolf New Member

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Fun for plinking out to 100 yards...

8. winds-of-change

Yup. She can do it if I do my part.

9. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....