Best Elk Rifle

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by KaiTheGunGuy, Nov 30, 2011.

1. KaiTheGunGuy

KaiTheGunGuy New Member

I'm new in hunting and someone wants to take me elk hunting, I need to know what is the best, yet affordable elk hunting rifles. And, if possibe, what are some good places to go elk hunting in Oregon or Washington. Thanks

2. jeepster69

jeepster69 New Member

270,308,30-06 are decently priced,,,,, 7mag and up,and the bullets start getting ridiculous,best of luck!

3. NotMormon

NotMormon Member

30-06 OR 300 Winchester Magnum. If you're not going to do much shooting, the cost of ammo shouldn't be much of a concern. Stay away from remington. They pretty much suck these days.

4. elk-acholic

elk-acholic New Member

7mm or a 30 cal are the most popular. Really anything from a 6mm and up will work but the 7mm and up are recommended. Elk and big tough animals. The most important thing over the caliber is shot placement and a bullet thats made for bigger game hunting. Any of these calibers work go for all game not just elk. I recommend browning, savage or tikka. That's just my opinion.

5. Durangokid

Durangokid New Member

It depends what kind of area you are hunting. Elk hunting can be over Sage Brush prairies or deep in the Black Timber. My choice for over 50 years has been the .338 Win. Mag. with a 250 grs bullet. This round works well under all conditions and carries a powerful pay load. I also hunt in areas where the Grizzly Bears are a real threat.:)

6. 75370

75370 New Member

I use the 35 Whelen, it's never let me down.

7. Muliemaster

Muliemaster New Member

You nailed it the 338 winny is my choice for elk I use a christensen arms carbon one custom in 338 for all my elk hunts, I shoot handloaded berger vld in it nasty combo there.

8. Muliemaster

Muliemaster New Member

Remington rifles suck huh???? Ok I see the point on a 770 but all remingtons, come on wake up, get real

9. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member