best .22lr bolt action rimfire for adult beginner?

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by mike2021, Jul 4, 2012.

1. mike2021

mike2021 New Member

I am 22 years old and I am new to shooting. I have been shooting with my brothers ruger 10/22 and my other brother's Henry golden boy lever action and decided it would be nice to get a bolt action rim fire in the family, problem is I don't know which one is best for my budget of 300$ max. Less expensive is always better. I'm really into accuracy and getting a solid foundation of shooting skills, and one day in the future go small game hunting.
    I know savage mark 2 series is always mentioned but I'm interested in knowing if there is any difference besides price between all models that fall under the "mark 2 series" I need it to be .22lr because of cheap ammo.

Thanks in advance guys!!

2. ktmboyz

ktmboyz New Member

I have a Savage bolt in 17hmr and love it .. I would like to get one in 22lr also, so I guess my vote would be the Savage. You can pick up the scoped combos pretty cheap from time to time.

3. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

Mike, check out the Marlins and the Savages. both make some very accurate and would fall well within your budget. Marlin and Savage both have bolt actions in either a box magazine or tube type magazine versions. different stock options and barrel options. optins of either open sights or using a scope. i have a Savage M93r17, which i bought about eight years ago and really like it. my next rimfire is going to be the new Marlin XT22 in 22 Magnum. check out the Marlin and the Savage websites to see what suits your fancy. good luck and enjoy.

4. mike2021

mike2021 New Member