Best 22 lr pistol

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by Merlin2525, Apr 4, 2010.

1. Merlin2525

Merlin2525 New Member

Hey folks, new to the forum and new to shooting. I love it, I simply love it! Now as a rookie I have a long way to go and a lot to learn. I need a little help in selecting a 22 pistol to work on shooting, I think the verbage is a gun to plink with. I have a Ruger LCR and love it but it has a tough recoil issue and its getting expensive to shoot. So can you recommend a good 22 for me to shoot with. I have looked at a Ruger, S&W, and a Browning. There is good and bad about all three. Many of you own one of these so could you tell me why you like your gun. I know the Ruger is a bear to clean, that not in its favor since I am a rookie. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

2. NGIB

NGIB New Member

Using the words "best" and "gun" in your post title makes it a question that has no answer. What's best for me may not work for you at all and vice-versa. Answer a few questions and we can share our experiences. For example: What's your budget? Do you want plastic or steel? Revolver or semi-auto?

BTW, if you intend to hang around, pop over to the introductions area and tell us a little about yourself...

3. glock2740

glock2740 New Member

I have the stainless, fluted bull barreled Ruger 22/45 and love it.

4. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

I have a blued 6" Ruger Mark III Classic. I am having some issues with disassembly and reassembly right now. I expect to have no issues with it after I do it a few more times.

As far as the pistol itself, it's a hoot and I'm sorry I didn't buy one long ago.

5. utf59

utf59 New Member

I own a Ruger Mk III 22/45, and I love it. I have also shot a number of other Rugers, various models with differnt barrel lengths, and I loved them all. The disassembly is not like other guns, and that is a bit of a pain. But they are a blast to shoot.