Best 1911

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by datahaar, Aug 2, 2011.

1. datahaar

datahaar New Member

Who makes the best 1911? I am new to handguns and have found no real good evidence that one is better than the other. If you coulld please aim me in the right direction.

2. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

Welcome to the forum, we have an area "Introductions"

Now back to your question:
    Range, Self-Defense, Target, Competition, Display?

What is the firearm to be used for? Like vehicles have 4 tires, some are designed for off-road, others for luxury.

Please be more specific.

3. canebrake

canebrake New Member

Attached Files:

4. Shihan

Shihan Active Member Lifetime Supporter

Depends also on what you are willing to spend.

5. Ambrola

Ambrola New Member

we think alike!!!

6. JonM

JonM Moderator

i totally agree with cane colt is the hands down best

7. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

I think it's more about manufacturer's quality. I like Colts, but my personal favorite is Springfield Armory. The pricey guns I've seen is more about the look and not so much on the shot. You'll pay more for a kimber, but a Colt or Springfield Armory would shoot on par or emphases on better with reliability and dependability. Colt and Springfield Armory have been around for over 100 years for a reason and they are reasonable on price.

8. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

Colts are the best, cause my Colt have never had not one issue, and they are all stock except grips. It feels good when you're at the range with a basic Colt gov cleaning the middle of the target, and you see the guy next to you unjamming his kimber. It really bad when the guy with the kimber asks to barrow your Glock so he can shoot too.

9. BombDoc

BombDoc New Member

If we're recommending SA; we should caveat that with older, American-made SA. The new stuff is not the same.

I'll second Colt. I will admit I have recently starting to look more and more at STI.

10. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member