Berger vld hunting bullets.

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by elk-acholic, Nov 28, 2011.

1. elk-acholic

elk-acholic New Member

My hat is off to Berger bullets. I started shooting Berger vld hunting bullets in my .270 win. Even though I didn't load for max velocity or best bullet for long range, I can't believe the destruction of these bullets. I shot both my whitetail and my elk this year at a little farther than 500 yards. I couldn't get closer without the animal spoking, and I knew that I could put the bullet where I wanted at that range. Hard to believe on my whitetail which was quartering away still got a pass through shot with bullet fragmentation completely destroying the vitals. My elk just unbelief damage to drop it in is tracks.

2. NotMormon

NotMormon Member

That's what I've heard. I loaded up some for my 30-06 but was not able to get a decent shot on elk this year. I had one around 500 yards but I leave those to you professional sniper guys.

3. Muliemaster

Muliemaster New Member

I use berger vld in my 338 an only berger vld in it. Its like throwin a vw beetle at an elk at 3000 fps

4. mrb1982

mrb1982 New Member

I like to hear these statements. I'm gonna load some of these for my 7mm Rem Mag Sendero after the first of the year. I might have to try some of these in my 270 too.

5. NotMormon

NotMormon Member

I had to mess around with the seating and powder quite a bit. I just about gave up on em until the bright idea of going with norm COAL hit me. Once you find the sweet spot...it's on.

6. Txhillbilly

Txhillbilly Active Member

I shoot a lot of Berger VLD bullets in .257 and .308 calibers.They are great bullets!

7. elk-acholic

elk-acholic New Member

How do you like your Sendero?

8. lonyaeger

lonyaeger New Member

I was with a friend a few weeks ago who dropped his elk at 250 yards using a Berger 140-grain bullet that he had loaded for his .280. The elk dropped to his knees instantly. That bullet really did it's job.