BCG questions

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by fa35jsf, Apr 19, 2013.

1. fa35jsf

fa35jsf New Member

Working on my first AR-15 build. I have a few questions I want to throw out here.

1) How much should a good M16 Bolt Carrier Group cost for 5.56? I am not needing anything super fancy, just a standard mil-spec quality, nothing too expensive.

2) Is the nickel plated or chrome plated ones really any better?

3) Is there any brands to AVOID? - has anyone used West Fork Armory?

4) Does anyone know where to find them in stock online?

2. bige91603

bige91603 New Member

Well the coating depends on what you're going to use the rifle for. If it is just a plinker or range gun then a phosphate coated carrier should be just fine. If you check out cbarms.com they have them in stock. Not the greatest price but not horrible

3. Overkill0084

Overkill0084 Active Member

Disclosure: I'm still an AR novice.

Last I looked, $130 on up depending on brand & finish.
    All other things being equal and using my own money I think that a Hard Chrome finish should be about as exotic as most people will really need, opinions vary of course. IMHO, it makes them a bit easier to clean.
    No idea about West Fork Armory.
    I haven't been searching very hard, but Most AR parts are still very rare.

4. Quentin

Quentin New Member

PSA has M16 BCGs pop up occasionally. I ordered one last week for $180, a decent price lately. (Haven't received it yet so can't comment on quality.) I've never bought fancy coatings but my milspec BCGs from BCM (2) and Daniel Defense (1) have functioned well while cleaning hasn't been difficult.

As usual it's hit or miss finding a good BCG, IMO BCM is the best. I'd get on email notification lists and check often.

5. bige91603

bige91603 New Member

I would say go with a PSA if you happen to find one in stock

6. purehavoc

purehavoc New Member